Mr. Cho, Hee Wook Elected as the UCI Vice President

29-Nov-2017 09:32

During the 178 Congress and the new Management Committee of the International Cycling Union (UCI), Mr. Cho, Hee Wook, ACC President was elected for the post of the UCI Vice President for the first time ever in the 50 years� history of the Asian cycling sport.

His election as its Vice President is considered a historical marking in the 100 years� history of the UCI, since the positions have been mostly held by non-Asian continents, and Mr. Cho became the first ever highest–ranking UCI official elected from the ACC. Its 2 other Vice Presidents are Mr. Renato Di Rocco (Italy) and Mr. Arthur Lopes (Portugal).

The Congress held in Lugano, Switzerland on 25thSept, 2009 also re-elected Mr. Pat McQuiad (Ireland), the only candidate for a new term of 4 years (2009-2013), and a part of the new UCI Management Committee, which is now composed of the following members: (*: Elected by the 2009 Congress)
 -Mr. Pat McQuaid (IRL)-President*
 -Mr. Cho, Hee Wook (KOR)-Vice President
 -Mr. Arthur Lopes (POR)-Vice President*
 -Mr. Renato Di Rocco (ITA)-Vice President*
 -Mr. Sheikh Faisal Humaid Al-Qassimi (UAE)*
 -Mr. Joop Atsma (NED)*
 -Mr. Mohamed Wagih Azzam (EGY)
 -Mr. Brian Cookson (GBR)*
 -Mr. Mohamed Jael Louafi (TUN)*
 -Mr. Peder Pedersen (DEN)*
 -Mr. Jose Manuel Pelaez (CUB)
 -Mr. Mike Plant (USA)*
 -Mr. Fritz Ramseier (GER)*
 -Mr. Mike Turtur (AUS)
 -Mr. Wojciech Walkiewicz (POL)
 -Mr. Vittorio Adorni (ITA)-Co-opted member
 -Mr. Hein Verbruggen (NED)-Honorary President
 -Mr. Ray Godkin (AUS)-Honorary Vice-President

After the Congress, the new Management Board appointed members of the UCI Commissions. The Road, Track, MTB, BMX, Cyclo-Cross and Para-Cycling Commissions will be presided respectively by Messrs Joop Atsma, Mike Turtur, David Lappartient, Abe Schneider, Brian Cookson and Louis Barbeau.